A sunny morning in Manhattan

I thought I might begin this week with a post of pictures showing the devastation Hurricane Irene wrought on my neighbourhood in Manhattan. But having gone out into a beautiful, cool, still, sunny morning, to see leaves on the pavements and very little else to remark upon, I decided not to bother. Living and working near the highest point of Manhattan helps, I’m sure. There’s been a little leak into my office (which is in a basement), but nothing very serious. There was no damage to our apartment, no power cut, and my wife didn’t suddenly go into labour. So that’s all right.

This Saturday, in fact, we enter the window where my baby could be born without being considered premature, which is enormously exciting and terrifying. This morning we met a paediatrician who seems to suit our requirements admirably.

Now back to work…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life events

Leave a Reply

